Home > advocacies, erap estrada, how to win philippine elections, loren legarda, presidentiables > Senator Loren Legarda is “ready” to run as president.

Senator Loren Legarda is “ready” to run as president.

May09-Loren-coverOn globalnation.inquirer.net, Senator Loren Legarda in Bandos Islang was quoted “But I can do this if I am president of my country”. She was with Maldivian President Mohamed Nasheed to push for good governance and to rethink development pratices. One of her advocacies is to save the country and the world from environment disasters due to climate change.

On Former President Erap, she was quoted to only align with him. Which she is schedule meet next week to discuss political plans.

Resources:http://globalnation.inquirer.net/news/breakingnews/view/20090714-215338/Legarda-says-shes-ready-to-run-for-president

  1. alexangelph
    July 14, 2009 at 12:11 pm

    One thing came in my mind, does it mean she’s leaving NPC if she aligns with Erap? Because Erap is not a member of NPC.

    • July 14, 2009 at 9:03 pm

      erap has been the traditional “leader” of the opposition. simple reason – he has the most money among all of them. sad, but true.

      • alexangelph
        July 15, 2009 at 5:27 am

        I agree.

        But her “alignance” with Erap whether she wants him to run as vice-president or he want her to run as vice-president is questionable. Because both of them wants to run for president.

        When it comes to money, her party has a lot of it (NPC) so why jump the ship right?

  2. July 14, 2009 at 9:09 pm

    this post on loren legarda got most number of hits today. this is the second time that articles on legarda got top hits.

    my interpretation on that is that many people are looking for news on legarda, they are hungry for loren legarda.

    • alexangelph
      July 15, 2009 at 5:31 am

      Thank you guys for making this article most number of hits today again.

      From my own point of view, her move on the presidency makes many people curious about it. I dont know, maybe she’s the only woman “interested” in the job.

  3. July 14, 2009 at 10:23 pm

    One thing though… If Loren is pro-environment why did she vote in favor of JPEPA?

    • alexangelph
      July 15, 2009 at 6:02 am

      I don’t speak for Senator Loren Legarda but I will try my best to let her answer that question.

      I read JPEPA committee report and its a good investment in our country especially in the Argiculture sector. It is also states there “Japan will not dump waste in our country”. However, there ARE some parts I don’t agree with such as ownership of properties.

      • July 15, 2009 at 8:09 am

        JPEPA makes the philippines japan’s trash can

        • alexangelph
          July 15, 2009 at 9:56 am

          That’s your opinion.

          But to the report I read from Senator Miriam, it will NOT make our country a “trash can”. Somehow, you must also believe to trusted politician to make our country a better place.

      • July 15, 2009 at 10:31 am

        the question here is this : are the gains on investments to the country worth it versus the environmental impact of allowing the japanese to make the philippines its trash can for toxic waste?

        even the so called investment gains under the JPEPA have been put into question. they are minuscule, insignificant and of little value to the economy.

        its value aside, isn’t it ironic that a presidentiable like legarda who positions herself as an environmentalist agreed to a treaty that makes the country the trash can for toxic waste of another country?

        • alexangelph
          July 15, 2009 at 12:38 pm

          I fully respect your opinion.

          “versus the environment impact of allowing the japanese to make the philippies its trash can for toxic waste”

          It’s already said in the report, it will NOT trash our country for toxic waste. I am not for JPEPA because there are some provision about “owning lands”

  4. Arquenevis
    July 16, 2009 at 8:05 pm

    ““But I can only do this if I am president of my country,” she said. “If the presidency is a necessary platform, so be it,” she said.”

    I find this odd, considering that as president, she will suddenly realize that the need for new environmental laws require the aid of legislative work and turn to the Senate for help. In other words, these are things only effective had she accomplished them as Senator and not as a President, an executive job – jobs in which Legarda has had little experience in. She should focus on goal setting and making realistic targets first and be the agent of GREAT differences within her department before considering a position outside her level of experience.

    • alexangelph
      July 17, 2009 at 7:40 am

      You are right but her track record as Senator is good. She wrote about 100+ Bills and its up to her and the whole Senate to pass it. For my own opinion, if she becomes president; she will definitely implement those laws for the best of our country. One thing I admire from her she never said “No” to the presidency.

      She did ran for VP but lost.

    • July 19, 2009 at 7:28 pm

      ““But I can only do this if I am president of my country,” she said. “If the presidency is a necessary platform, so be it,” she said.”

      i find that statement very confusing in message. it sounds like she will use the presidency as just a tool to advance her causes and not necessarily she wants to be president.

      its surprising that a broadcaster like her is unable to articulate well.

      but i have a guess why she said such a confusing message — it comes from her uncertainty in running for the presidency. that statement did not categorically say she will run for president.

      • alexangelph
        July 20, 2009 at 2:00 am

        I watch how she comments on national television about her presidency. I may be a supporter but she should kept quiet. Or at least, explain to them why she couldn’t make up her mind.

        Her comment “But I can only do this if I am president of my country” is a very straight-forward answer. Oo nga naman diba? Kung pangulo siya magagawa niya lahat ng gusto niya. But the question is, will the people vote for her?

  5. July 19, 2009 at 2:48 pm

    Writing a bill should not for me the measure of the effectiveness of a Senator but rather hardling the way in passing those bills…. another measure of effectiveness is how the senator voted on other bills laid on the senate table.

    Her support for JPEPA was really a surprise and I thought that she will be up to the end run against it. For a member of Luntiang Pilipinas and someone wh supported her I was really sad about that.

    • July 19, 2009 at 7:24 pm

      the bills senators have written and passed is an indication of whether they were doing their jobs as senators and also the kinds of bills they wrote. it gives you an idea of how their minds work and where they stand on issues.

      • alexangelph
        July 20, 2009 at 2:03 am

        I agree with you wawam.

    • alexangelph
      July 20, 2009 at 2:02 am

      shenbrood: Writing bills in one priority an individual senator should do because they create laws for the people. As the whole Senate, it is their job to pass that senator’s bill if they think its good for our country.

      Like I said in my earlier comment, JPEPA will not make our country a trash can.

  6. July 20, 2009 at 3:16 am

    Well I hope it will not make our country a trash can but study shows otherwise. Anyway, I hope that transformation do happens in 2010 because we are tired of President who just do nothing but throw away the hopes of our people.

    I hate that Sen. Legarda lost in his bid for the Vice Presidency… he could have shown her quality as a VP. I voted for her by the way.

    • alexangelph
      July 20, 2009 at 9:13 am

      I hope so too. 🙂
      Whoever becomes president in 2010 will hopefully love our country and our people. I want him or her to change our dirty politics here.

      I am too young to vote for Sen. Legarda in 2004 but if I had a chance, I will definitely vote for her. Thanks for voting for her! 🙂

      • July 20, 2009 at 11:53 am

        Your welcome and besides I do not base my vote on popularity or surveys but I based it on the qualification and on the true essence of the person.

  7. July 21, 2009 at 9:31 am

    Well, in my own Poll of Presidentiables, out of 24 people who casts their votes, Legarda got only 1. I hope many will visit my poll to help me and my friends decide which candidate are we going to choose this 2010 Election, kung meron man.

    • alexangelph
      July 21, 2009 at 12:08 pm

      Hi Dante Mayor,
      Thank you for letting us know about your poll and website. I will definitely visit it and answer your poll.

      You many also contribute in this website, if you are interested. Just email our main author at wawam.email@gmail.com

      Thanks again.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

